It’s Beginning to Feel A Lot Like Christmas

I have been out of class for 2 hours now, and I am still experiencing loss of sensation in my body. On Mondays I have class at 10:30, 11:30, 12:30, and 1:30. And of those classes, three of them are in the same room. This room happened to be one of them affected by the great boiler malfunction plaguing Purdue’s campus.

Ironic, right? That Purdue, the home of the Boilermakers, has two boilers that decided to stop working.

By the end of my 10:30, the classroom was down to 48 degrees. The good news was that my next class was a building over, the bad news was that I had a quiz in there. You can never win.

However, the quiz was not nearly as terrible as sitting back to back in the freezing cold classroom. Concentrating  while sitting in an unheated room for 2 and a half hours is quite difficult. It had to have been below 40 by the time that I got out of there. Two of my male professors borrowed a pink scarf from the lost and found box in the classroom, that’s how desperate they were for warmth. My microbiology professor said that had to be the first time he taught a lecture wearing a winter coat and hat. I myself was wearing a denim jacket, a coat, and a ski coat vest. I also had on a head wrap, huge mittens, my winter socks, and boots. I couldn’t take notes because I couldn’t feel my fingers.

When I got back to the room, I decided to change my socks to see if a fresh pair could warm my feet up any. One of my toes was completely white with absolutely no feeling. I guess I can thank my mom for that. She has always had problems with her fingers turning white in the winter due to poor circulation, and this year I have noticed my fingers and toes getting exceptionally cold very easily.

I am hoping to regain complete feeling in my toes within the next half an hour. I can obviously feel my fingers now since I am able to type.

Last night, I had the complete opposite problem. On the drive back from Seymour, I happened to hit Indy right when the snow started coming in. There was some major snow stick-age to the road. There were points where I couldn’t even figure out where the interstate was, so I just picked what I thought was the middle and kept driving. No one else around me could figure out the lanes either. By the time I reached North of Indy, traffic was moving at 45 miles per hour. My blood pressure was definitely elevated. I eventually had to turn on the cool air because I was sweating out of nervousness. So I have experienced the full spectrum of body temperatures over the past 24 hours.

Besides that, I am super excited about the snow. It makes me feel like curling up with my fuzzy blanket, drinking hot chocolate, and watching Christmas movies.

Leave a Reply

