Count Your Blessings

Hey! It’s me again!

I have been pretty busy being trapped in the Sophomore Slump. Yes, I do believe that such a thing exists. If you just google search “Sophomore Slump,” several articles pop up. Such as this one!

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/11/03/education/edlife/getting-over-the-sophomore-slump.html?_r=0

elephant

I started out fine, and then gradually a horrible outlook on everything related to being at Purdue began to creep up on me. Classes are hard. Being back in dorms is hard. Interactions with people are hard. Everything is hard.

I would try to give myself a little pep talk nearly every day. “Mallory, you need to have a better attitude.” However, that wasn’t working. I have had quite a few chats with God, asking why I feel the way I do and asking for the weight of everything that felt like it was crushing me to be lifted.

And you know what? I have had an unexplainable change in attitude over the past couple of weeks. No, my challenging situations haven’t gone away. I am just learning that when you look deep down into each circumstance, the frustration is stemming from an unconscious effort to try and control everything.

10593040_10204902970600116_4321432411046600939_n

I go through a vicious cycle of trying to control my life, realizing that doesn’t work, and then giving up all control. If I could just stick at the whole giving up all control to God phase in the cycle, I would be much better off. That’s where I have been heading back to lately, and I must say, it is so much more pleasant.

I need to define myself not by my GPA or my relationships with others, but rather find my identity in Christ. God can do a lot better job at looking out for me than I can.

With that in mind, these past few weeks I have been able to appreciate the big little things in life….

Exams that don’t make me feel like crying

Kohl’s Cash (and super nice boots you can get with it)

Beautiful Fall Weather

Gilmore Girls

Shania Twain songs

Bright Red Leaves

Male Ginko Trees since they don’t smell terrible like the female ones

People that don’t have to do anything to make me smile

Hearing my favorite Ingrid Michaelson song come on in a coffee shop

Coffee in general

The fact that Rabbit Jumping Competitions exist

My fuzzy blanket

Special K Red Berries Cereal

Buying a plane ticket for Ireland!!!

Yeah… I am super pumped for Ireland next semester. I am ready to go. Like Now.

Leave a Reply

