Com114

This is my second week for my other summer class, the infamous COM114 at Purdue. It might as well be called “Testing Mallory’s Social Anxiety 101.”

Today we had our second speech presentation, which went considerably better than my first graded speech. Our assignment was to inform the glass about an important invention by a not well-known inventor.

I decided to help myself out by picking an invention that I am passionate about. Naturally, I chose chocolate chip cookies.

Colossal Chocolate Chip Cookies

If you didn’t know, chocolate chip cookies were made by a woman named Ruth Wakefield who helped run the Toll House Inn in Massachusetts. A common story told is that Ruth ran out of baker’s chocolate when making cookies for guests so she broke up a chocolate bar and put it in the dough, expecting it to spread throughout when baking. The chocolate only softened, and left a cookie with chunks.

ruth wakefield

However, in The Great American Chocolate Chip Cookie Book (yes, this exists), the author says that she spoke with Ruth’s daughter and former employees, and the likelihood of the cookie invention being an accident is highly unlikely. Ruth had a degree in household arts, so she would have known that a chocolate bar wouldn’t spread. The less interesting, but more believable possibility is that she decided to replace butterscotch with chocolate in a guest favorite recipe to give them something different.

great-american-chocolate-chip-cookie-book-cover-vtr

As if it’s not cool enough that you now know who made the chocolate chip cookie, Ruth got a pretty sweet deal out of her recipe. I didn’t intend for that last statement to be a pun, it just happened. She sold printing rights for her recipe to Nestle in return for a free lifetime supply of chocolate. Nestle also created chocolate chips to be used specifically for Ruth’s recipe. This is the reason behind there being a recipe for Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies on the back of Nestle’s packages!

DSC_2767_crop

There were several parts we needed to include in our speech that I was afraid I was going to forget. I do best when I read over things before I go to bed because in the morning I remember them more clearly. So, I practiced my speech in a more unconventional way last night. As I was lying in bed with my eyes shut, I went over my speech in my head over and over and over until I fell asleep. I ended up dreaming about giving my presentation, and amazingly enough, the words in the speech I was giving in my dream were actually right! So I got even more practice unintentionally!

That’s about all I have for you. Feel free to use my practice method for speech giving, but I don’t guarantee the whole dream thing will happen for you.

One thought on “Com114

Leave a Reply

