Two Truths and a Lie

I feel like I am constantly meeting new people. When you meet new people in group settings sometimes you end up being forced into some sort of Ice-Breaker game. I am not a fan of most of them, but I am pretty good at “Two Truths and a Lie.” It’s not that I am a compulsive liar, I just happen to have a couple of strange, hard to believe facts about myself. If you are reading this blog, you probably already know me pretty well, and if not, you have to promise not to give away what I am about to share if we ever end up in group together doing this get-to-know-everyone game.

Generally, the lie I tell is something like “I volunteered on a llama farm.” Which is a lie, because I volunteered on an alpaca farm. There is a difference. Alpacas get very offended if you call them llamas.

Alpacas are Very Studious

Alpacas are Very Studious

One of my personal favorites to use as a truth is that I threw a pitch on a major league baseball field. It’s one of those that sounds like it could be possible, but you still aren’t quite sure how someone could manage that. However, it is in fact true. In fourth grade, I had a former career as a Cincinnati Reds pitcher. Obviously when I word it that way, I am lying. But, I did get to throw the ceremonial first pitch at a game for winning a drawing contest for their annual Christmas Card they send out to sponsors.

208156_1043057282768_3580_n 208740_1043057442772_4512_n

Another pretty good one is that I had black hair as a baby. If you don’t even know what I look like now, then I guess this statement is irrelevant to you. However, for those who can see that I have blondish hair, that statement is a little suspicious. I did have black hair when I was born, which then proceeded to turn pretty much white when I was one. I sported that bleach blonde hair with the summertime green highlights from chlorine for quite a few years, before my hair started to darken.

IMG_2715 3039_1134857537717_3211899_n

I would say that the best “Two Truths and a Lie” ammunition I have is that I was a child model. My older sister and I used to model for Kelly’s Kids shows. I actually just googled whether Kelly’s Kids is still a thing, and it is! So if you don’t know what it is and want to look it up, you can. If you don’t want to expend that effort, I can tell you that it is just monogrammed kids clothes. Sadly, my career ended when Alyssa decided to drag me into the bathroom and cut our hair. Believe it or not, butchered hair was not a style, even in the 90’s.

Alyssa and I with our new haircuts in Kelly's Kids dresses

Alyssa and I with our new haircuts in Kelly’s Kids dresses

The fact that I used to model, along with the fact that I once got Champion in 4-H for the modeling portion of the sewing project, is pretty hysterical if you know me now. I am not one to put a lot of time and consideration into how I look every day. I go for the “roll out of bed look.” If I stick with it long enough, who knows, it may even become the latest fashion trend at some point.

Whether or not I choose to brush my hair is debatable. My hair is so thick and refuses to do anything that looks at all “cute.” So, I just let it do what it wants. I am done fighting.

Whether or not I choose to put on make-up, considerably favors the not. I didn’t even start wearing make-up until Junior year of high-school. There may have been about a month or two at some point in my life where I consistently put it on. That may be a generous estimate. I find make-up to be a hassle. This summer, I decided to leave all of my make-up at home so that there is never a question of whether I will wear it or not. I just can’t, and I am fine with that.

I am not anti-make-up, I just don’t see it as a necessity. Especially not necessary enough to spend the ridiculous amount of money they are asking me to shell out for a tube of mascara. I wish that more girls and women could get away from feeling like they absolutely have to wear make-up and putting so much value in appearances.  If you are someone who struggles with being self-conscious about looks or feeling worth based on the number of likes on your selfies, the Bible has a ton of great verses for you to meditate on! Like this one!

“3 Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” 1 Peter 3:3-4

Remember that you are fearfully and wonderfully made by God.

 

 

Leave a Reply

