Coffee! Coffee! Coffee!

Screen Shot 2014-06-22 at 2.23.22 PM

Here is my concise list of the greatest inventions in the world: Birkenstocks, hair detangler, dresses with pockets, and coffee.

I would put equal weight on each of these, but the only one I am going to elaborate on is coffee.

Where would I be in my life without coffee? Probably asleep. I have quite possibly the lowest energy of any person you will meet. Ever. Sometimes I look at little kids and super bubbly people and I just don’t get it. Like, how even?

If you happen to fit in those categories, you should thank your lucky stars. It must be a genetic thing for me because my mom, uncle, and great-grandpa I never met all are (or were) nap takers. I do enjoy a good nap myself…

IMG_3049 IMG_2925

This is why I depend on coffee to keep me going. I try not to overdo it because I don’t want to become desensitized to the effects of caffeine. But even still, I don’t think caffeine has nearly the same effect on me as it does on others. I don’t seem to reach that point in the day where I shouldn’t drink coffee or it will keep me up at night.

I am actually the only coffee drinker in my house. My dad and older sister can’t stand it. My mom and younger sister can tolerate it (normally with a bunch of sugar and creamer). I drink it black.

I will say that coffee is an acquired taste. I don’t think it is often that people just instantly love coffee. For me it started with AP chemistry in high school. I needed something to keep me coherent after swim practice so I could finish my mass amounts of homework. I would brew a pot of coffee and keep pouring myself cups of it. Laziness helped me reach the point where I could drink it black. I didn’t want to mess with adding creamer or sugar so I just wouldn’t. Sometimes the special drinks from Starbucks are too sweet for me, but I can do them occasionally.

College is a wonderful place for coffee drinkers. There are so many places to choose from! Greyhouse, Vienna, Cafe Royale, Cafe Literato… etc. Right now I am sitting at Cafe Royale because it is a 1 minute bike ride from my house, which is both great for me and dangerous for my wallet. They have a fantastic bar seat at the window so that while I am doing homework or whatever, I can people watch! Sunday afternoon coffee is my favorite. It is a great time to relax, reflect on my life, and think about God’s grace and power. If you want to join me, I would be all for it.

Screen Shot 2014-06-22 at 2.19.57 PM

If you are ever looking for someone to go chill at a coffee shop with you, I am your girl. Honestly, I don’t care who you are or if you even like me. I really love coffee, and for me, the best conversations are had over coffee.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

