One Man’s Trash

Today, I was able to spend a lovely afternoon with my mom and “Aunt” Yogi. I don’t know if they really missed me, or if they were just using it as an excuse to explore some new antique shops, but they took the two hour drive up to Purdue to come and see me! A little known fact about me is that I frequently peruse antique shops, and my mom is to blame for this relatively new found love of mine. Seeing that we all three pretty much have the inventory of antique shops memorized within a 45 mile radius of Seymour, it was time to explore new territory in Lafayette.

The thing I love about antiquing is that you never really know what to expect walking into a new shop. It can either be really bad or really awesome. But the cliche quote “one man’s trash is another man’s treasure” definitely applies. For example, this piece that I saw in one of the shops we went to is ummm… interesting to say the least. antique picture

I am sure that there is someone out there who has been searching for something like this for a long time and would be willing to spend the $92 being asked for it. I apparently don’t appreciate this “art.” My style is more practical and cheap. I tend be drawn towards the primitive things, like this adorable old table I found back at Seymour that will one day go in my little cottage house.

table

 

There are people out there who probably think that the things that I find appealing are just completely ridiculous, like my old Humpty Dumpty Egg Crate I found. However, I can justify buying that because I will in fact use it one day when I have my chickens. (Chickens kind of scare me, I just like the thought of having fresh eggs).

The funny thing about me is that I absolutely hate spending money. So I don’t ever impulse buy. My rule is that if I like something, I don’t pick it up and carry it immediately. I will make a round in the store, and then if I still like it enough to go back for it, then I will consider buying it. Sometimes, even if I really like something I won’t buy it, especially when it comes to clothes shopping. I tend to wear my clothes until they literally fall off my body (this really did happen with a pair of my shoes this past semester while I was on campus), and I tend to wear my mom out with my refusal to buy things. I recently decided that I was going to get into apparel sewing because it is cheaper. If this were Instagram, I would have to add the hashtag “#ootd” for this next picture, but these are the shorts I sewed the other day.

shorts

Me and my “Vicks” herb I got at the Farmer’s Market

They cost me a whole $10 dollars to make, which I consider a pretty acceptable amount of money to spend on an article of clothing. I have gotten over the bitterness of my experiences in 4-H sewing where they scrutinized every little stitch, so I will probably try to make more of my own clothes now.

Overall, today was a very successful day. My favorite shop was the very first one we went into called “Keepers.” For some reason, I really love sheep even though my only experience with them was shearing a couple this last semester in my applied animal management class. Anyways, this store had a ton of different sheep antiques. I really had to hold myself back from buying all of them. The quality of the antique shops we visited got progressively worse throughout the day, ending with Klassy Klutter. We should have known not to go in before we even stepped foot inside, based off of the way they spelt the store name. It was clutter, but it wasn’t classy. Regardless, it was still a great time and we had plenty of laughs during the day. We even saw Bill Clinton!

bill

My mom, a Republican, with Bill Clinton

I always look forward to my next adventures with Yogi and my mom. I am pretty sure they could make any event entertaining.

***You should be impressed… this has been two blogs in two days!***

***Also, if anyone goes antique shopping and needs someone to tag along, I am most likely available!***

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

